Weekend Ramblings Oct 24, 2014: Broncos win, Maddon quits and the Lions in London

This is getting out of hand. How good are the Broncos? Too damn good. From my viewpoint, there is no better team in the NFL and this year there is no NFC team to stop them (I love you Lions, but let’s be realistic). Last night, in what was supposed to be a tight, well played division game turned out to be more Manning magic. In my pool I took San Diego against the points since the winner in 99% of the games between these two teams over the past three years has won by 7 points or less. Peyton had other ideas and I’m already 0-1 in the pool. I love the fact that he is going to absolutely destroy Favre’s TD record (up yours Brett!) and I would love to see Peyton win another ring because he is by far the best quarterback in his family and in a fair world Eli would not have more rings than him. As much as I wanted that game last night, I knew Denver would win and since they play in the AFC, they have my respect and my cheers. Until they face the Lions in the Superbowl…(cue Dreamweaver music)

Huge news out of Tampa today as Joe Maddon has exercised his Out-Clause and has stepped down as manager of the Rays. In nine years of constantly rotating rosters, Maddon did an unbelievable job and in my opinion is the best manager in baseball. I would love to discuss how the Blue Jays will fire John Gibbons to jump on this but I am absolutely certain this will not happen. AA will stand by his coach as another team slides in and scoops up Maddon and begins a nice long playoff run. The day after the 21st anniversary of Joe Carter’s home run that rocked the city it would have been amazing to see Maddon and Melky Cabrera holding press conferences wearing Jays colours. A boy can dream….(Dreamweaver? Again?)

Excited for a good AM dose of NFL football this weekend with my Lions taking on the Atlanta Falcons in jolly ol’ England. I was in Detroit in 2011 to see the Falcons beat the Lions 23-16 (the drive home felt even longer than 4 hours) so I am hoping that the league’s Number 1 defense (We’re Number 1 baby!) can melt Matty Ice and give something to smile about as I sip on my Irish coffee (hey, it will be 11 o’clock somewhere). A Lions win along with a Packers loss (they are in New Orleans) would give Detroit the NFC North lead and make things interesting as the second half of the season features 4 divisional games for the Lions including a visit to Lambeau Field to close the regular season. So far, Caldwell and his coaching staff have lived up to expectations but there’s a lot of work to do before anyone will put Detroit in a serious playoff conversation (especially me unless I’m talking to any ass-clown Bears fan…Nice face Cutler!)

Huge college football games this weekend including my two favorite schools as Ohio State takes their dominating swagger into Beaver Stadium to take on Penn State who have lost two straight Big 10 conference games in a row (to Northwestern and Michigan). Although I would love to see PSU get the upset, its hard to imagine the Buckeyes losing a Saturday night primetime game. OSU leads the all-time series 15-8 and are 13-2 since PSU joined the Big 10 in 1990. If you’re wondering why I’m cheering for PSU it’s because of the $5 pitchers at The Dark Horse Tavern on game day in State College. I wish I was there for this one…

Next week I will touch on the first games of the Raptors season (hopefully all wins), gloat about a Lions win in London (if they lose, no mention will be made) and maybe the Leafs will give me something to write about (no one at MLSE could be reached for comment this week as they were planning the parade route after the 5-2 win over the Isles).

Until next week….

About Triggi

Get Triggi With It!
This entry was posted in Detroit Lions, MLB, NBA, NCAA, NFL, NHL, Toronto Blue Jays, Toronto Maple Leafs, Toronto Raptors. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

